The first 22 Big Bash matches of the 2018/19 tournament have resulted in 22 Big Bash man-of-the-match awards…obviously.


Here’s a reminder of how the man-of-the-match award is decided and how it works and here’s a general guide to some basic man-of-the-match betting strategy.

But what do the trends say regarding the type of player picking up the award most often and what can we learn from these trends with a view to betting on the man-of-the-match for the remainder of the tournament? Let’s start with some top-line stats.


Big Bash man-of-the-match top line stats



  • Only two players have won the award more than once: D’Arcy Short of the Hobart Hurricanes has won it three times and Marcus Stoinis of the Melbourne Stars won it twice.


  • Chris Lynn is the only player to have won it in a losing cause, when his Brisbane Heat lost to the Sydney Sixers. Lynn scored 84 off 55.


Betting Maestro recommends Royal Panda as one of the best places for betting on all Big Bash matches. 

Indian customers can open an account with Royal Panda in order to bet on all Big Bash matches and can receive 2000 INR as a free bet when they sign up. It’s a £20 free bet for UK customers. 


  • 5 of the 22 players getting the Big Bash man of the match award were overseas players.


  • 12 of the 22 players getting MOM were ‘home’ players. It would have been a perfect 11-11 split had there not been that anomaly where Lynn (a home player) won it despite his side losing.


What type of player is the Big Bash man-of-the-match?


Batting openers – 8 winners

Number 3 batsman – 2 winners

All-Rounder – 4 winners.

Spin Bowler – 4 winners.

Fast Bowler – 4 winners.


A surprisingly even split between the men with the bat and the men with the ball. Furthermore, an interesting spit between spin and pace when it comes to the bowlers who won the Big Bash man-of-the-match gong.

Main conclusions:

Opening batsmen the ones to go with

If you’re going to back a batsmen, it’s only worth going with openers. Callum Ferguson and Chris Lynn won it batting at three but that’s just 10% of the winners. No proper batsman featuring any lower than three has won it so far.

All that said, the data is a bit skewed by the fact hat D’Arcy Short has won it three times. Were it not for Short’s individual brilliance, (batting) openers wouldn’t be that well represented here.

Go with the specialists.

It’s very tempting to be eyeing up the likes of Dwayne Bravo, Ashton Agar, Matt Short, David Willey or Mohammad Nabi on the grounds of ‘you get two bites of the cherry’ with them and they can win you the award with either bat or ball. But the stats show that’s flawed thinking.

Not only has the award only gone to all-rounders just four times in 22 (18% of the time) but two of those four were picked up by Marcus Stoinis. Not only that but despite being classed as a genuine all-rounder, Stoinis did actually open the batting on both those occasions.

For the record, despite taking four wickets so far, D’Arcy Short shouldn’t be classed as an all-rounder. In  five matches he’s bowled just 13 overs so it’s far more appropriate to call him an opening batsman and occasional/part-time bowler.

Don’t dismiss the spinners

Australian pitches are famous for being fast, bouncy, true. The faster you bowl the greater the chances of taking wickets? Right? Maybe not.

Whether it’s the spinners at this year’s Big Bash bowling particularly well, the batters playing them particularly badly or poor-quality pitches, it’s been a 50/50 split among bowlers who won the Big Bash man-of-the-match in terms of pace and spin bowlers.

As the pitches start to wear, it would be no surprise if by the end of the tournament there were a lot more spinners having won the award than fast bowlers.


You can bet on the man-of-the-match award on all Big Bash matches with Betfair Sportsbook.

Open an account with Betfair Sportsbook and get up to £100 in free bets. Betfair is Betting Maestro’s Number 1 recommended bookmaker for cricket betting.

New customer offer. Place 5 x €/£10 or more bets to receive €/£20 in free bets. Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum €/£100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange bets excluded. T&Cs apply.


Big Bash man-of-the-match winner so far

The team in bold is the one who produced the man-of-the-match.

Home Team Away Team Man-of-the-match Role
Heat Strikers Rashid Khan spin bowler
Renegades Scorchers Usman Shinwari fast bowler
Thunder  Stars Daniel Sams all-rounder
Sixers Scorchers Steve o’Keefe spin bowler
Heat Hurricanes D’Arcy Short Opener
Strikers Renegades Daniel Christian All-rounder
Hurricanes Stars D’Arcy Short Opener
Thunder Sixers Jos Buttler Opener
Scorchers Strikers Jhye Richardson fast bowler
Sixers Stars Peter Handscomb Opener
Hurricanes Thunder Mathew Wade Opener
Renegades Sixers Ben Manenti spin bowler
Hurricanes Scorchers Riley Meredith Fast Bowler
Strikers Thunder Peter Siddle Fast Bowler
Heat Sixers Chris Lynn Number 3
Stars Renegades Marcus Stoinis All-Rounder
Thunder  Scorchers Callum Ferguson Number 3
Renegades Strikers Jake Weatherald Opener
Hurricanes Sixers D’Arcy Short Opener
Stars Thunder Marcus Stoinis all-rounder
Heat Scorchers Mujeeb Ur Rahman spin bowler
Strikers Sixers Joe Denly Opener
Related Articles