A look at the Big Bash odds for 2018/19 and all you need to know before betting on it.

The Australian Big Bash League is one of the leading T20 domestic tournaments in the world, starting in 2011-12 and is now entering its eighth edition. Aalways starting in December with the knockout rounds and Final taking place after Christmas, it’s often considered the second best T20 franchise competition after the IPL. Here’s what you need to know about it.

Big Bash Odds: All the background info


How many teams are in it?

Eight. The same eight that have been in it since the first edition in 2011-12. Four of the Australian cricket states have a team each: The Adelaide Strikers (South Australia), the Perth Scorchers (Western Australia), Brisbane Heat (Queensland) and  the Hobart Hurricanes (Brisbane). Two states have two teams: the Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder (New South Wales) and the Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades (Victoria).

There have been attempts to add extra teams to the competition, both new ones from Australia and by inviting teams from New Zealand to take part, but ultimately attempts for expansion have so far been rejected.


Open an account with Betfair today and get €100 in free bets. 

New customer offer. Place 5 x £/€10 or more bets to receive £/€20 in free bets.
Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum £/€100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange
bets excluded. T&Cs apply.


How many games are there?


59 matches are played each season. 56 in the Group Stages where each side  plays 10 games, followed by two semi-finals and a final.


When does it take place?


The exact dates change every year but generally it’s mid-December to mid-February. For the 2018/19 edition, the opening match is on December 19 2018 with the final on February 17 2019.


What’s the Big Bash League format?


In the Group Stages you play every team at least once and some teams twice. Unlike say the IPL that rewards the Top 2 by giving them two bites of the cherry (if you lose the semi-final you still have another go if you finished Top 2), here it’s a straight case of the Top 4 going through to a straight knockout semi-final. But the teams finishing in the Top 2 get to play their semi-final at home with First playing Fourth and Second playing Third.


Indian customers can open an account with Royal Panda in order to bet on all Big Bash matches and can receive 2000 INR as a free bet when they sign up.


Where can I watch the Big Bash matches?


If you’re in the UK you can watch Big Bash games on BT Sport up to 2020. If you’re in Australia, you can watch all games on subscription TV channel Fox Sports with 43 of the 59 games also shown on free-to-air network Channel Seven.


Where can I get Big Bash odds and bet on the games?


All the Sportsbooks endorsed here at Betting Maestro offer odds on the winner of each match, the top batsman, top bowler, innings runs, man-of-the-match, total run-outs and plenty of other Big Bash betting markets both pre-match and in-play. You can also bet on the tournament winner, tournament top batsman and tournament top bowler throughout the competition.


The Betting Maestro recommends the Betfair Sportsbook as the best place for Big Bash odds and the Betfair Exchange if you’re  looking to trade the game for a guaranteed profit.


How does the Big Bash fit in with the cricket calendar?


Unlike with the IPL, the international cricket calendar doesn’t stop at all just because the Big Bash is going on.  During the course of it there’s a Test, ODI and T20  series between New Zealand and Sri Lanka, in New Zealand.  There’s also a Test,  ODI and T20 Series between South Africa and Pakistan in South Africa while Australia themselves are in action against India in a Test and ODI Series. India then move next door to play New Zealand in an ODI Series while Australia start hosting Sri Lanka in a Test series from late January onwards.


What does that mean in terms of overseas players?


Each Big Bash side is allowed to field two overseas players in their line-up. But you don’t have to. During the 2017/18 season, Perth Scorchers only ever fielded one – England’s David Willey – out of their own choice.  Teams can replace an overseas player with another if he’s called up for international duty in the meanwhile.


Because England don’t play till late January, Test players Joe Root and Jos Buttler are able to play for most of the Big Bash with both having signed for the Sydney Sixers before then joining upwith the Test team. England limited-overs specialists  Tymal Mills and Jofra Archer (both Hobart Hurricanes) will also feature, as will all-rounder David Willey (Perth Scorchers), batsman Joe Denly (Sydney Sixers) and the uncapped Lancashire leg-spinner Matt Parkinson (Melbourne Stars).


Afghanistan, one of the few sides who don’t have international commitments during thge Big Bash will have their three star men on show in the tournament. Rashid Khan (joint top wicket-taker last season) returns to the Adelaide Strikers while fellow spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Brisbane Heat) and all-rounder Mohammad Nabi (Melbourne Renegades) will also be present.


There will be rare Big Bash appearances this year for a Pakistani player with leg-spinner Usman Qadir (son of Pakistan great Abdul Kadir) turning out for the Perth Scorchers.


Big Bash Odds


Early odds on Betfair Sportsbook have Perth Scorchers as 4/1 favourites. The Scorchers are the most successful Big Bash franchise with three wins from seven editions and a further two finals.

Next up in the betting are perennial under-achievers the Brisbane Heat (9/2) followed by defending champions Adelaide Strikers (9/2).


Betfair Sportsbok Big Bash Odds


Perth Scorchers 9/2

Brisbane Heat  9/2

Adelaide Striker 6/1

Melbourne Renegade 6/1

Hobart Hurricanes 7/1

Sydney Sixers 8/1

Melbourne Stars 8/1

Sydney Thunder 8/1 


Betfair Sportsbook has Big Bash odds pre-match and inplay on all 59 matches  plus odds on the tournament winner, top batsman and top bowler. 

Open an account with Betfair today and get €100 in free bets. 

New customer offer. Place 5 x £/€10 or more bets to receive £/€20 in free bets.
Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum £/€100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange
bets excluded. T&Cs apply.


Related Articles