About ODI Betting

ODI betting is one of the most popular forms of betting on international cricket.

An ODI match consists of one team batting first for 50 overs – unless they lose all 10 wickets before the 50 overs are up – and posting a total. It’s then up to the team who bowled first to try to chase that total. The game reaches its conclusion when: the side chasing reaches its target, they lose all 10 wickets before reaching their target or…the 50 overs are up before they reach their target.

If an ODI match is interrupted by rain, then Duckworth-Lewis Steyn method is applied to either give the chasing team a revised total before they start their innings, or during it. Generally, chasing sides benefit from revised totals more than those defending them because they still have all their wickets intact despite having to reach a smaller target, albeit with less deliveries to do so.

ODI betting normally occurs on matches making up a bilateral series. This is normally made up of between three and seven ODI matches and can take place as a Series also having Test and T20 matches, or as a stand-alone ODI series.

Very occasionally, teams take part in a Tri-Lateral series made up of three teams who play each other several times during the first phase before a one-off (or occasionally a best-of-three) final takes place between the two teams who got the most wins during the first phase.

ODI betting is particularly popular among cricket traders on Betfair. Because the game can have up to 100 overs, played over eight hours, there are lots of fluctuations with the favourites flip-flopping as wickets fall, batting partnerships grow or boundaries are struck towards the end.

Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for most career ODI runs (18, 426), most runs as an opener and most centuries (49). Rohit Sharma holds the record for the highest score in an ODI with 264, scored against Sri Lanka. AB de Villiers holds the record for both the fastest fifty (16 balls) and the fastest century (31).

In terms of bowlers, Muttiah Muralitharan has the most ODI wickets (534) while Waqar Younis has the most five-wicket hauls (13). Rashid Khan has the best bowling average, currently 14.47.