About IPL Tips

The IPL is short for the Indian Premier League (officially the Vivo Indian Premier League) and is the world’s richest domestic T20 tournament.

IPL tips will be available at Betting Maestro before and during all editions of the IPL.

IPL betting is a multi-million pound industry, all of which makes those canny IPL tips on Betting Maestro even more valuable!

Held since 2008, it’s now had 11 editions and is one of the most watched and best attended sports tournaments in the world.

It’s always contested by eight teams and they have largely been the same, although the names have changed slightly: Chennai SuperKings, Delhi Daredevils (from 2019 onwards, the Delhi Capitals), Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad (formerly Deccan Chargers), Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab.

An exception to this was when the Rising Pune Supergiants and the Gujarat Lions took part for the 2016 and 2017 editions, when the Chennai Superkings and the Rajasthan Royals were banned.

The squad are assembled after a series of auctions. Any player in the world can put themselves up for sale in the IPL auction and will go the highest bidder. However, once you’ve been bought by a team, they have the option to retain the player, re-bid for them or release them in future editions.

The tournament takes place between early April and late May and has a Group Stage where everyone plays everyone home and away, followed by Qualifier 1, an Eliminator, Qualifier 2 and the Final.

The two most successful teams in IPL history are the Chennai Superkings and the Mumbai Indians, who have each won it on three occasions.

Delhi Daredevils/Delhi Capitals are the only side never to have made the final while them, the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Kings XI Punjab are the teams who have taken part every year, who are yet to win it.

Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are the top runscorers in the IPL in that order while the top wicket-takers are Lasith Malinga, Amit Mishra and Piyush Chawla.

Get the best IPL tips at Betting Maestro.