All the crucial 2019 Cricket World Cup betting information you need ahead of the big international ODI showdown in England this summer.

The biggest prize in the sport is up for grabs this summer over in England and Wales and with a view to some Cricket World Cup betting, here’s what you need to know.


Where and when does the Cricket World Cup take place?


It starts on the 30th May 2019 with England v South Africa kicking off proceedings and ends with the final on Sunday July 14 2019.

10 venues in England will be used and one in Wales. They are: Lord’s (home of Middlesex), The Oval (Surrey), Headingley (Yorkshire), Old Trafford (Lancashire), Taunton (Somerset), The Rose Bowl (Hampshire), Edgbaston (Warwickshire), Trent Bridge (Nottinghamshire), County Ground (Gloucestershire), Riverside (Durham) and the Cardiff Wales Stadium in…Wales.


Who’s playing at the Cricket World Cup?


England, India, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Afghanistan. And if you’re wondering, those are in order of their place in the ICC ODI rankings at the time of writing, with England ranked top.

Indeed, Afghanistan and the West Indies had to qualify via a special tournament held in the summer of 2018 (the two finalists qualified automatically but for the record, the Windies won it).


 Royal Panda is going joint-best price on Pakistan at odds of 10.0. Here’s why they’re a good bet

Indian customers can open an account with Royal Panda in order to bet on all Cricket World Cup matches and can receive 2000 INR as a free bet when they sign up. It’s a £20 free bet for UK customers. 


What’s the format?

The ICC have ditched the tried-and-trusted formula of the last couple of World Cups of having several groups and then the winners and runners-up of them progressing to the Quarter-finals where it’s knockout cricket from thereon.

This time round it’s a Round-Robin format where everyone plays everyone once in the Group- Stages and the Top 4 progress to the semis with first playing fourth and second playing third in the semis.

With regards to Cricket World Cup betting, it probably means that the cream will rise to the top with consistency being rewarded over the ability to produce a one-off upset. To make the semis, each team will probably have to win at least five of their nine matches and you could argue this format favours the favourites.


Who are the defending champions?

Australia, who won it on home soil four years ago, beating co-hosts New Zealand comfortably in the final.

But they’re not the team to beat. Cricket World Cup betting has them at 6.5 with Betfair Sportsbook, making them third favourites. It may have been quite a different story had their two star batsmen David Warner and Steve Smith not incurred a suspension for ball-tampering that means that no-one knows whether they’ll play at all or if they do, what sort of form they’re in.

Still, there’s plenty to like about their chances irrespective of that. You can read all about it here.


Who are the Cricket World Cup betting favourites?


England at 3.45, the Number 1 ranked side in the world and the hosts, who feature a star-studded batting line-up and have an excellent record in their own conditions.

Followed by India, who Betting Maestro considers to be in with as good if not better, a chance of winning the World Cup. They’re available at 4.0 with Unibet.


India are a tasty-looking 4.0 (3/1)  with Unibet to win the World  Cup. When opening an account with Unibet as a UK customer you can claim £40 in free bets if your first-ever bet loses. 


After Australia (6.5) come South Africa (9.0), New Zealand (9.0) and after that it’s Pakistan, who are more than capable of having a big tournament as well.

Then it’s the rest, any of whom would do extremely well to even make the semis. They are: West Indies (19.0), Sri Lanka (40.0), Bangladesh (67.0) and Afghanistan (81.0).


What’s the best sportsbook for your Cricket World Cup betting?


If you’re going to go with just the one, choose Betfair. You can place pre-match bets on the match winner at bigger odds than you would with anyone else and trade matches in-play on the Exchange while being able to place all your top batsman betting, top bowler and man-of-the-match bets on the Sportsbook. What’s more, you can get welcome bonuses on both the Exchange and Sportsbook as a  new customer while just opening the one account. So it really is a case of two-in-one.

But it’s worth also having accounts with Unibet and Royal Panda to ensure that whatever you bet on, you’ll always get best price on it.


Betfair Sportsbook is Betting Maestro’s recommended sportsbook for cricket betting. 

New customer offer. Place 5 x £/€10 or more bets to receive £/€20 in free bets.
Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum £/€100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange
bets excluded. T&Cs apply.



Which TV Channel will the Cricket World Cup be on?

In the UK it will be on Sky Sports, who will show all the games at the tournament.


Who are the players to watch at the Cricket World Cup?


Virat Kohli, skipper and star batsman of India is always a good place to start. Chris Gayle will be playing his last-ever ODI tournament and we all know what he can do on any given day. New Zealand’s captain Kane Williamson is as reliable a batsman as they come in this format and should pile on the runs.

Ben Stokes is probably the best all-rounder at the tournament with his big hitting and accurate bowling while Australia’s Marcus Stoinis just keeps getting better and better.

With the ball, Australia’s Mitchel Starc is always a threat, as is Kiwi quick Trent Boult and India’s Jasprit Bumrah.

Among the spinners, look out for Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan and India’s Kuldeep Yadav, who loves playing abroad.


More Cricket World Cup tips and insightful content at Betting Maestro: 


New Zealand ODI Team might struggle at World Cup


Cricket World Cup Tips: Three unmissable bets


Australia Cricket World Cup win a real possibility

Related Articles